Comparing Constitutions
U.S. Constitution Texas Constitution
  1. Legislative Branch
  2. Executive Branch
  3. Judicial Branch
  4. Interstate Relations
  5. Amending
  6. Misc. Provisions
  7. Ratification
  1. Bill of Rights
  2. The Powers of Government
  3. Legislative Department
  4. Executive Department
  5. Judicial Department
  6. Suffrage
  7. Education
  8. Taxation and Revenue
  9. Counties
  10. Railroads
  11. Municipal Corporations
  12. Private Corporations
  13. Spanish and Mexican Land Titles
    (repealed Aug 5, 1969)
  14. Public Lands and Land Office
  15. Impeachment
  16. General Provisions
  17. Mode of Amending the Constitution of this State

The Texas and U.S. Constitutions provide for representative government with political power divided among three branches or departments. But the Texas Constitution is much longer and more detailed than the U.S. Constitution. It puts rights first. It deals with state and local matters not covered by the U.S. Constitution. And its many amendments are buried in the text, not listed separately like the U.S. Constitution.

Source: Texas Legislature Online; National Archives. (full source)